2020-21 Junior College Men's Basketball Preview

1. Navarro
2. Tyler
3. Kilgore
4. Trinity Valley
5. Panola
6. Paris
7. Blinn
8. Bossier Parish
9. Lamar State
10. Jacksonville
11. Coastal Bend
12. Victoria


1. South Plains
2. New Mexico
3. Odessa
4. Howard
5. Western Texas
6. Clarendon
7. Midland
8. New Mexico Military
9. Frank Phillips

1. McLennan
2. Hill
3. Collin
4. Ranger
5. Temple
6. Grayson
7. Weatherford
8. Southwestern Christian


1. Eastfield
2. Richland
3. North Lake
4. Mountain View
5. Brookhaven
6. Cedar Valley


Season Preview

The NJCAA basketball season won’t tip off until January 2021 after the NJCAA adjusted the schedule for the 2020-21 school year due to COVID-19.

And for schools like Angelina and Lee, this season won’t happen at all as both schools have suspended athletics for the current school year.

For Angelina, it is doubly disappointing. In March, the Roadrunners earned a spot in the NJCAA National Tournament for the first time since 1998.

The COVID-19 pandemic kept the Roadrunners from getting to compete in the tournament. And just four months later, the school administration decided not to participate in sports in the 2020-21 school year.

“I’m not going to lie. It’s been tough,” Angelina men’s basketball coach Nick Wade said. “I never got closure with my last team. We were in the middle of practice going to the national tournament and then I sent them home when the tournament was pushed back expecting to see them in a few weeks. There are still some of them I haven’t seen. It’s been an incredibly tough pill to swallow.”

And it was on Wade’s birthday, July 13, that he received the announcement that his team wouldn’t get a chance to repeat as Region XIV Tournament champions.

“It’s been mentally tough and emotionally tough,” Wade said.

With Angelina and Lee not in the picture for this season, Region XIV will be a 12-team league.

Kilgore College — under the direction of veteran head coach Brian Hoberecht (382-326 overall, 226-141 in 12 years at Kilgore) — welcomes back Mike Thomas (14.0 points), Stephan Morris (Old Dominion commit) and Tysen Banks.

Thomas is considered one of the top junior college players in the country and has double-digit Division I offers.

K.J. Jenkins averaged 17 points per game last year at North Georgia, and Javonne Lowery is a transfer from the Louisiana Lafayette. Other newcomers for the Rangers are Dantwan Grimes, DaSean Nelson, Duane Posey and Dylan Cabs.

“This team is deeper on the perimeter with plenty of talent in the post,” Hoberecht said. “Versatility and speed will create tempo and can make us very good defensively.”

Bossier Parish brings back Paul King (10.6 points) for new head coach J.A. Anglin. Cal State Northridge transfer Avery Martinez is among the newcomers for the Cavaliers.

Former Dallas standouts Kenyawn Bowie (Kimball) and Kanntrell Burney (Skyline) are back for Lamar State.

Trinity Valley transfer Tydan Archibald, Clarendon transfer Kobi Johnson and Navarro transfer Lilon Smith join the Seahawks.

“This is a fundamentally sound team that is aggressive on both ends of the floor,” Lamar State head coach Lance Madison said. “This is a good shooting team with a good skill set and versatility.”

Jacksonville has zero returning players, so it will rely on 15 newcomers this season.

The Jaguars were able to recruit East Texas with the additions of Phillip Washington (Longview), Savoy Goodwyn (Sabine) and Amos Johnson (Nacogdoches). Of the 15 players on the roster, 13 are from Texas. Abdul Wurie is from London, England, and Jerry Boston Jr. comes from Bothell, Washington.

“We have a chance to be a special team even though there are 15 new players on this team,” head coach Louis Truscott said. “The chemistry has been nothing short of amazing as guys have built something special already. We are a very fast and athletic team with guys that are eager to prove themselves worth of playing at the highest level possible.”

Coastal Bend went 12-19 last season and welcomes back Austin Guillory, Maurice Taylor and Caleb Elsey.

Blinn advanced to the Region XIV Tournament championship game in 2019-20. Returners are Bonke Maring, Calvin Carpenter, Tyler Washington and Jacob Paske.

Two Weber State transfers join the roster — Judah Jordan and Austin Galuppo. Sam Chigbo, Samni Fajana and Lewis McGlasson all join Blinn from Myerscough Basketball Academy in England.

Trinity Valley will be under the direction of Mark Leslie, who was previously on staff as an assistant.

The Cardinals bring back Oregon State commit Dashawn Davis and Division I prospect Anderson Mirambeaux. They are projected to be in the starting lineup with Quevian Adger, Keron Bailey and Lethaniel Bastian.

Trevone Fuller, Tuongthach Gathek and Keron Bailey are other notable players on the Trinity Valley roster.

Tyler lost a bulk of its roster from last season, but local products Jackson Kennedy and Scottie Turner are back for the Apaches.

Navarro is expected to be one of the more talented teams in the league. Three players have already committed to Division I programs. Akol Mawein is headed to Arkansas, Souleymane Doumbia to TCU and Victor Rosario to Bryant.

Bill Foy returns as the head coach of Paris, where he won a national title in 2005.

In Region V’s North Texas Junior College Athletic Conference, Swede Trinkle (277-205) has four Canadians on the roster at Hill College — Josh Noton, Ryan Brooks, Hanniel Ouattara and Jami Fuller.

Under head coach Kevin Gill (611-158 overall, 444-125 at McLennan), McLennan brings back Chris Pryor (10.5 points), Raquan Brown (8.4 points, 6.5 rebounds), Rodrique Massenat and Asare Otchere.

Former SMU assistant James Stafford is the new head coach at Ranger after Billy Gillispie left for Tarleton State.

In Region V’s Western Junior College Athletic Conference, Howard brings back Darrell Green and Mo Musa. Transfers Lamar Everd (Paris), Zachery Mackson (Bishop State) and German Kasanzi Obama (Navarro) all averaged double figures in points at their previous stops. Akene Agee and Sami Sanad both come to Howard from Cloud County.

South Plains brings back Rivaldo Soares (15.4 points), who was the WJCAC Freshman of the Year last season. Benjamin Ngondo Bayela, Jevonnie Scott, Yuot Gai, Philmon Gebrewhit and Stephen Hunt also return.

Myron Gardner — a Georgetown transfer — is among the newcomers for South Plains.

Clarendon is now under the direction of Hunter Jenkins — son of Tenaha High School head basketball coach Greg Jenkins. Jenkins has spent time at Trinity Valley, Odessa, Louisiana Tech, Texas Tech and Buffalo.

Mark-Anthony McReed returns for Clarendon. Newcomers include Idaho transfer B.J. Simmons, Washington State transfer Nigel John, UTEP/Navarro transfer Jakobe Dill and IUPUI transfer Taveion White.

Odessa welcomes back Alphousseyni Diedhiou and Isaiah Turner and brings in 13 newcomers.

North Lake will look to have a strong season in the Dallas Athletic Conference. Davien Minor (16.3 points, 3.8 rebounds), David Russel and Joe Rollins are returning. Westley Sellers, Xavier Harrison and Jayden Campos are notable newcomers.

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites