The 2022-23 DCTB Men's Basketball Awards

Following the elimination of Texas from the Elite Eight, Texas Basketball is pleased to reveal its annual All-Texas awards for the 2022-23 season. After leading Houston to a 33-4 record and a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament, Marcus Sasser is named out All-Texas MVP after averaging 16.8 points per game and 3.1 assists after coming off a season-ending injury last season. Baylor's Keyonte George, a presumed Top 8 selection in the 2023 NBA Draft, is our Freshman of the Year after averaging 15.3 points per game for the Bears. 

And after helping guide Texas to a 29-9 record and earning the Longhorns their first trip to the Elite Eight since 2008, Rodney Terry is named All-Texas Coach of the Year, just days after he was officially promoted to the full-time position.


All-Texas Most Valuable Player:

Marcus Sasser, Houston


All-Texas Sixth-Man of the Year:

Sir’Jabari Rice, Texas


All-Texas Defensive Player of the Year:

Jamal Shead, Houston


All-Texas Coach of the Year:

Rodney Terry, Texas


All-Texas Freshman of the Year:

Keyonte George, Baylor


All-Texas Sophomore of the Year:

Wade Taylor IV, Texas A&M



All-Texas Junior of the Year:

Mike Miles Jr., TCU


All-Texas Senior of the Year:

Tylor Perry, North Texas


All-Texas First Team:

Tylor Perry, North Texas
Marcus Carr, Texas
Adam Flagler, Baylor
Marcus Sasser, Houston
Jarace Walker, Houston

All-Texas Second Team:

Wade Taylor IV, Texas A&M
Jamal Shead, Houston*
Sir'Jabari Rice, Texas*
Mike Miles Jr., TCU
Keyonte George, Baylor
Timmy Allen, Texas

All-Texas Third Team:

Qua Grant, Sam Houston State
Trevian Tennyson, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Tyrece Radford, Texas A&M
Damion Baugh, TCU
Isaac Mushila, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi­­­­*
Kevin Obanor, Texas Tech*

* Denotes tie


Honorable Mentions:

Damien Daniels (ACU); J’Wan Roberts (Houston); Bonke Maring (Houston Christian); Jonathan Cisse (Incarnate Word); Nate Calmese (Lamar); Abou Ousmane, Rubin Jones (North Texas); Will Douglas (Prairie View A&M); Max Fiedler, Quincy Olivari (Rice); Javion May (Sam Houston); AJ Cajuste, Sadaidriene Hall (SFA); Shamir Bogues (Tarleton); Dylan Disu, Tyrese Hunter (Texas); Demarcus Demonia (Texas A&M-Commerce), Terrion Murdix (Texas A&M-Corpus Christi); Joirdon Karl Nicholas (Texas Southern); Mason Harrell (Texas State), Devion Harmon, Pop Isaacs (Texas Tech); Chendall Weaver (UTA); Justin Johnson (UTRGV); Japeh Medor, Jacob Germany (UTSA); 


All-Texas Defensive Team:

Jamal Shead, Houston
Tyrese Hunter, Texas
Qua Grant, Sam Houston State
Rubin Jones, North Texas
J’Wan Roberts, Houston

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites