The 2021-22 DCTB Men's Basketball Awards

Perhaps we got spoiled the past few seasons with Texas teams being in the Final Four and Baylor winning the title last year, but nonetheless it was a thoroughly entertaining 2021-22 season in the Lone Star State. More interestingly was the new crop of players that rose to prominence during the season. This year's awards weren't easy to come up with.

Texas College MVP:

James Akinjo, Baylor

Texas College Defensive Player of the Year:

Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua, Baylor

Sixth Man of the Year:

Jeremy Sochan, Baylor

Texas College Coach of the Year:

Kelvin Sampson, Houston

Texas Freshman of the Year:

Kendall Brown, Baylor

Texas Sophomore of the Year:

Mike Miles, TCU

Co-Texas Junior(s) of the Year:

Tylor Perry, North Texas and Kevin McCullar, Texas Tech

Texas Senior of the Year:

Kendric Davis, SMU

All-Texas First Team:

  • Kendric Davis, SMU
  • James Akinjo, Baylor
  • Mike Miles, TCU
  • Savion Flagg, Sam Houston
  • Bryson Williams, Texas Tech

All-Texas Second Team:

  • Adam Flagler, Baylor
  • Tylor Perry, North Texas
  • Quenton Jackson, Texas A&M
  • Gavin Kensmil, SFA
  • Fabian White, Houston

All-Texas Third Team:

  • David Azore, UTA
  • Souley Boum, UTEP
  • Kyler Edwards, Houston
  • Darius Lee, Houston Baptist
  • Timmy Allen, Texas

All-Texas Defensive Team:

  • Kevin McCullar, Texas Tech
  • Kyler Edwards, Houston
  • Adonis Arms, Texas Tech
  • Thomas Bell, North Texas
  • Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua, Baylor

All-Texas Honorable Mention:

Coryon Mason, Reggie Miller, Airion Simmons (Abilene Christian); Kendall Brown, Matthew Mayer, Jeremy Sochan (Baylor); Taze Moore, Jamal Shead, (Houston); RJ Glasper (Incarnate Word), CJ Roberts (Lamar); Thomas Bell, JJ Murray, Abou Ousmane (North Texas); Jawaun Daniels (Prairie View A&M); Travis Evee (Rice); Javion May (Sam Houston); Marcus Weathers, Michael Weathers (SMU); David Kachelries (SFA); Shamir Bogues, Montre’ Gipson (Tarleton); Damion Baugh, Emanuel Miller (TCU); Christian Bishop, Marcus Carr Andrew Jones, Courtney Ramey (Texas); Terrion Murdix, Isaac Mushila, Trevian Tennyson (Texas A&M-CC); John Walker III (Texas Southern); Caleb Asberry, Mason Harrell (Texas State) Kevin Obanor, Marcus Santos-Silva, Terrence Shannon, Davion Warren (Texas Tech); Jamal Bieniemy (UTEP); Jacob Germany (UTSA), Justin Johnson (UTRGV).

Share or Save for Later

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Save to Favorites